The Wahl Diet

1/4/20232 min read

The Wahl Diet and Protocol in brief

A Brief History

Dr. Terry Wahls was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis in 2000. She started declining rapidly until she decided to experiment with diet and supplements. Her condition improved to a point that she regained all her mobility. She started working with others who had multiple sclerosis or similar issues to test her protocol. The result is her Wahls Protocol Diet.

What is the Wahls diet?

One diet you may have heard of is the Wahls protocol, also known as the Wahls diet. It's named after Terry Wahls, MD, the doctor who created it. After she was diagnosed with MS, she began studying food and vitamins.

What is the Wahl protocol?

The Wahls Protocol is a healing protocol that focuses on nourishing your mitochondria, the energy factory of your cells. It’s an excellent protocol to use if you suffer from any type of autoimmune issue or chronic condition that affects your daily life.

Wahls Protocol Food List.

When you start a new healing protocol, one of the first things you want to know is what you can and cannot eat.

What you can eat:

Leafy greens

Colourful veggies

Sulphur-rich veggies

Grass-fed or wild-caught protein

Organ meat

Nuts and seeds

Fermented foods

Seaweed or sea vegetables

What you need to avoid:


Processed foods




Wahls Protocol Phases

The Wahls protocol diet can be adapted according to your health goals. There are three levels:

Level 1: The first level is the Wahls Diet. It is the most accessible of the levels and will be enough for most people. On level one, eat 9 cups of vegetables a day (3 cups tightly packed leafy greens, 3 cups deeply coloured vegetables and fruits such as berries, tomatoes, peppers, beets, carrots and winter squash, 3 cups sulfur-rich vegetables such as broccoli, cabbage, mushrooms, asparagus, Brussels sprouts, turnips, radishes, onions, and garlic). Eliminate gluten, dairy, eggs, and artificial sweeteners. Limit non-gluten grains to one serving a day and limiting all types of sweeteners (honey, maple syrup, and sugar to one teaspoon a day.

Level 2: The second level is called Wahls Paleo. Follow all the guidelines from level 1, plus include organ meat twice a week and sea vegetables once or twice a week. Eliminate grains, fruits, and other high-carb foods. Level 2 also includes the addition of non-dairy, non-grain fermented foods (like pickles, kimchi, and sauerkraut).

Level 3: The third level is called Wahls Paleo Plus. This level is a ketogenic diet. You need to eat high fat Very low carb, Avoiding all grains, legumes, and potatoes. You are eliminating all legumes and added sweeteners. You are reducing your vegetable consumption to 6 cups per day divided evenly among leafy greens, deeply coloured vegetables, and sulphur-rich vegetables.Moreover, one serving of berries a day is all you are allowed to eat as far as fruits go. Lastly, you eat only twice a day and fast 12 to 16 hours each night. (intermittent fasting)

Picking the Right Level for You

Dr. Terry Wahls recommends that most people start with level one unless you are dealing with a serious chronic condition like obesity or autoimmune issues. In this case, you can start with the Wahls Paleo. If you still struggle at the Wahls Paleo level, consider moving on level 3.

If you have neurological problems like dementia, epilepsy or a brain injury, she recommends you work towards attaining level 3

You could do a modified version if you like.

Check out our weight loss programme here